Towards a sustainable future through design

Sustainability

Our vision for sustainable development is based on the 1987 definition, developed in preparation for the Third Rio Earth Summit, which states: Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. It has become evident that climate change is the most serious challenge our global community is currently facing, ecologically, culturally, economically and socially.

 

As we know, the genesis of a new system of values is rooted it that which is it intended to replace over a given time, without underestimating the pitfalls and frictions that underlie all major transformations.

 

Therefore, the importance of developing a framework emerges from the polyphony of calls for action already emerging to seek common ground between individual intentions and our attitudes towards change.

 

A correlation exists between the potential sustainability of our actions and our willingness to establish a system for collective innovation.

 

Our challenge to transform the relationship that designers have with their markets while improving the relationship that consumers, users and communities have with the world. To this end, the development of a framework will guide our awareness of our knowledge and actions.

 

Sustainable production systems for sustainable consumption, the implementation of new eco-responsible standards and considerations towards the renewal of the design of products, tools, services, urban planning, existing cities and infrastructures, using best practices until new sustainable alternatives emerge, all attest to the role of design and the excitement and commitment of designers, decision makers and communities to embrace our future.

 

The growing potential for sustainability of the various types of initiatives mentioned above is an invitation for leaders and businesses to make progress in their sustainable development approach.

  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
Contact us!

© 2019 - World Sustainable Design Framework Secretariat

Vers un avenir durable pour tous,
par le design.

Durabilité

Notre vision du développement durable se fonde dans la définition de 1987, mise sur pied lors de la préparation du troisième Sommet de Terre à Rio qui précise : Un développement qui répond aux besoins du présent sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures de répondre aux leurs. Force est d’admettre que les changements climatiques commandent le plus sérieux des empressements de notre communauté globale tant sur le plan écologique, culturel, économique que social.

 

Comme nous le savons, la genèse d’un nouveau système de valeurs prend racine dans celui qui est destiné à être remplacé sur un temps déterminé, sans sous-estimer les écueils, les frictions que sous-tendent toutes les transformations majeures.

 

En ce sens, l’importance du développement d’une stratégie-cadre émerge de la polyphonie des actions déjà en cours afin de créer un accord entre les intentions individuelles et nos attitudes vis-à-vis du changement.

Il existe une corrélation entre le potentiel de durabilité de nos actions et notre volonté d’établir un système d’innovation collectif.

 

Notre défi réside dans la transformation de la relation qu’entretiennent les designers avec leurs marchés et celui que les consommateurs, les usagers, les collectivités entretiennent avec le monde. Sur ce compte, le développement d’une stratégie cadre saura orienter le développement de nos connaissances et nos actions .

L’ensemble des efforts de création de nouveaux systèmes de productions respectueux de l’environnement jusqu’à la consommation responsable, l’implantation de nouvelle normes écoresponsables, la réflexion investie dans le renouvellement du design de produits, outils, services, aménagements de territoire, villes et infrastructures existantes, jusqu’à l’apparition de nouvelles alternatives durables montre l’effervescence et l’engagement des designers, des décideurs et de nos collectivités.

 

Le potentiel de durabilité croissant des différents types d’initiatives, mentionnées ci-avant, représente une invitation destinée aux leaders et aux entreprises à progresser dans leur démarche de développement durable.

  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
Contactez-nous !

© 2019 - Secrétariat de la Stratégie-cadre mondiale sur le design durable